top of page

Passion Project Pandemic!

Updated: May 3, 2021


Today is the ninth day since they closed the schools in our area and the 3rd day since they announced a stay-at-home order for California. Needless to say, it’s been a LOOOOONNNNGGG week–and it’s just the beginning.


The upside is that I have been finding plenty of time to catch up on things I’ve wanted to do for a very long time. I predict that one of the things that will be borne out of this pandemic besides panic, economic devastation, financial hardship, and depression is a renaissance of sorts, as others besides myself finally find the time to start on dreams and passion projects, whether out of boredom or necessity as they seek out a new income stream.


God is an expert at resurrection. A few years ago, I went through a massive life crisis and season of upheaval (actually more than one). There were moments that I thought I might die, and if I didn’t, I wanted to. In that time, God provided. And out of that time, he brought new life and growth, not in spite of the suffering, but because of it.


In this current season, I want to offer the same hope and comfort that I experienced and help others discover how to find the resurrection that God offers in the midst of difficulty, disruption, and destruction.


You may or may not believe in God. If you don’t, or you’re on the fence, I invite you to keep an open mind and just give God a chance to speak to you through some of the exercises we try out. After all, what do you have to lose? If God is there, give God a chance to show up.


You may believe in God but be skeptical of some of the exercises anyway because they’re new to you or different than what you are used to. Again, I invite you to keep an open mind–I believe all truth is God’s truth. After all, the wise men who came to honor the Baby Jesus were astrologers from a foreign country…


✵ ✵ ✵ ✵ ✵ ✵ ✵


Jesus says the thief comes to steal, kill, and destroy, but Jesus comes that we might have life and have it to the fullest (John 10.10). The Greek word for “fullest” is perissós, which can be translated as “over and above, more than is necessary, exceeding abundantly, extraordinary, uncommon pre-eminence”, you get the idea.


It comes from the noun perisseía, which was a word used by the Greeks to describe the excess wax in their ears. Jesus is saying he came to give us so much life, it will be coming out of our ears! He came so that we would have life that is extraordinarily abundant, over and above what we need.


There’s a Latin word “magis” that is used in some time-tested Christian traditions that translates to “more” or “greater”. Magis refers to the idea of doing more for Christ through doing more for others. God gives us magis so that we can offer magis to Christ and others.


Right now, you may feel like there’s not enough, let alone “more”. Not enough toilet paper, sure. But also not enough income, work, business, security, certainty, or answers. It is OK to feel those things. But I discovered that there is a life beyond my feelings and my circumstances. And I want to help you find the same magis that I found in my darkest days. So let’s begin.


You can follow along at my YouTube channel. Thanks for visiting – see you there!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page